Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher Review: 6 Data-Driven Tests

🤝 Our content is written by humans, not AI robots. Learn More

📊 Scoring Data

We combined the weighted average of 6 different performance scores to measure the Clearly Filtered pitcher’s performance, design quality, value for money, and more. Here are the scores we awarded to the pitcher in each testing category.

CriteriaResults
Health Related Contaminants83
Aesthetic Related Contaminants99
Performance CertificationCertified for 0.82% of reduction claims
Filtration Rate2.27 GPH
Component QualityOutstanding
Component CertificationCertified
SetupOutstanding
Servicing RequirementsOutstanding
Costs$0.55/ gallon
Warranty Length2 years
ShippingFree shipping all orders
Returns30 days

🎬 Video Review

🚰 Contaminant Reduction

Score: 8.24

Our first impression of the Clearly Filtered pitcher was that performance is where it excels. Its filters are uniquely designed to thoroughly and comprehensively remove more than 360 common tap water contaminants, according to the manufacturer’s testing. 

We wanted to look beyond Clearly Filtered’s contaminant reduction claims and analyze the hard evidence. To do this, we tested our own water supply to see what the pitcher could reduce, and we looked for official performance certifications by the NSF, ANSI, or WQA, which hold more weight than third-party testing. 

Testing the Clearly Filtered pitcher with Tap Score

Our Performance Testing

Score: 8.38

We used Tap Score by SimpleLab to conduct before-and-after water quality tests on our treated groundwater supply. To assess the safety of our unfiltered and filtered water, we compared the contaminants detected with Tap Score’s own Health Guideline Levels. 

water testing with tap score

The Clearly Filtered pitcher did a great job of reducing most contaminants in our testing, and it was one of the most comprehensive water filter pitchers we tested.

Health-Related Contaminants

Score: 8.30

We were most concerned about the 8 contaminants with health effects that were detected in our unfiltered water.

ContaminantMeasurementDetectionHGL
UraniumPPM0.0140
ChlorinePPM10.0003
MolybdenumPPM0.00260.03
CopperPPM0.1630.3
FluoridePPM1.10.8
BariumPPM0.01582
StrontiumPPM0.113
Nitrate (as N)PPM3.510
SulfatePPM8.4500
PhosphorusPPM1none
MagnesiumPPM6.32none
pH7.4none
SodiumPPM9.63none
ChloridePPM14.9none
CalciumPPM25.6none
Total Dissolved SolidsPPM137none

These contaminants should be safe when detected below the HGLs. But we still felt uncomfortable being exposed to chemicals, pollutants, and toxins that have been linked to several health effects when ingested in larger concentrations or over an extended period. 

We were particularly keen to reduce fluoride and uranium in our water, since these were both detected above the HGL.

Our water’s 1.1 PPM fluoride concentration exceeded the HGL of 0.8 PPM. Additionally, 0.014 PPM of uranium was detected, while Tap Score deems that no level of this contaminant is safe in water – the HGL is 0. 

water filter pitchers baseline test

Our filtered water test showed that the Clearly Filtered pitcher had reduced 100% of fluoride and uranium, which is great news. Most of the other water filter pitchers we tested only slightly reduced one or the other of these contaminants, so we were pleased with our results here. 

The Clearly Filtered pitcher also reduced the contaminants detected below the HGL in our water:

  • 100% copper
  • 86% barium
  • 67% strontium
  • 53% molybdenum
  • 11% nitrate
  • and just 3% sulfate

While these results were good (some more than others), the pitcher’s performance didn’t live up to Clearly Filtered’s contaminant reduction claims of 99.99% barium, >98.77% strontium, >98.39% molybdenum, >99.96% nitrate, and 99.88% sulfate. 

There was one anomaly with our results: 0.0054 PPM of cobalt was detected in our water when it hadn’t been detected in the unfiltered water. This is an outcome that we can’t pinpoint a definite cause for, especially given that Clearly Filtered claims the pitcher can reduce >98.31% of this heavy metal. The overall contaminant reduction score was brought down due to this.

We plan to test our water again to see if this unusual result occurs again. 

Below you’ll find a chart of all the contaminants detected in our unfiltered water, and the Clearly Filtered pitcher’s performance addressing them:

ContaminantMeasurementPre-FiltrationPost-Filtration% Change
ChloridePPM14.915.54.03%
ChlorinePPM10-100.00%
FluoridePPM1.10-100.00%
Nitrate (as N)PPM3.53.1-11.43%
PhosphorusPPM10-100.00%
SulfatePPM8.48.1-3.57%
BariumPPM0.01580.0022-86.08%
CobaltPPM00.0054n/a
CopperPPM0.1630-100.00%
MolybdenumPPM0.00260.0012-53.85%
StrontiumPPM0.110.036-67.27%
UraniumPPM0.0140-100.00%
CalciumPPM25.617.2-32.81%
MagnesiumPPM6.3210.464.56%
PotassiumPPM02.53n/a
SodiumPPM9.6314.348.49%

Aesthetic Contaminants

Score: 9.90

We tested for chlorine in our water ourselves, using the Hach test strip that came with our Tap Score sample kit. 

Our unfiltered water contained around 1 PPM of chlorine, which we’d expected – chlorine is used to disinfect our water supply. 

The Clearly Filtered pitcher reduced chlorine down to undetectable levels, and our water tasted cleaner and fresher, with no chemical smells or aftertastes.

Clearly Filtered Pitcher chlorine test

Minerals & pH 

Many of the water filter pitchers we’ve tested reduced healthy minerals in our water as an unexpected (and unwanted) outcome. 

Calcium and magnesium were detected in our water. Post-filtration, we found that the pitcher had reduced calcium by 32%, and magnesium by 64%. This was surprising to us given that the manufacturer claims the Clearly Filtered reduces unwanted contaminants “without removing beneficial minerals”.

Our water’s sodium concentration had also been reduced by 48%. Potassium increased slightly by 2.5%, suggesting the possible use of a potassium-loaded cation exchange resin, although the increase wasn’t substantial enough for us to say for certain. 

Surprisingly, our water’s pH actually increased, from 7.4 to 8. 

Performance Certifications

Score: 7.00

We’ve tested and re-tested the Clearly Filtered pitcher at intervals for a few years now, and not long ago, the pitcher filter had no certifications at all – meaning that we had to rely on the manufacturer’s test results (it has been third-party tested by QFT, a division of IAPMO) when ascertaining what it could reduce. 

Recently, Clearly Filtered has obtained a WQA certification to NSF/ANSI Standard 42, for the reduction of chlorine, and Standard 53, for the reduction of PFOA/PFOS. That reassured us that the pitcher was doing exactly what it was advertised to do, reducing the contaminants that most affected our water quality.

Still, we didn’t give the Clearly Filtered pitcher the top score here because it has only been certified to reduce 3 contaminants out of the 365 contaminants it’s claimed to reduce.

Here’s a chart showing the contaminants Clearly Filtered claim to reduce vs those it is certified to reduce:

Contaminant% Reduction ClaimCertification
1,1,1,2-Tetrachloroethane>99.9%
1,1,1-Trichloroethane>99.7%
1,1,2,2-Tetrachloroethane>99.8%
1,1,2-Trichloroethane>99.9%
1,1-Dichloroethane>99.8%
1,1-Dichloroethene>99.6%
1,1-Dichloroethylene>99.9%
1,1-Dichloropropene>99.6%
1,2,3-Trichlorobenzene>99.9%
1,2,3-Trichloropropane>97.9%
1,2,3-Trimethylbenzene (hemellitol)>99.8%
1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene>99.8%
1,2,4-Trimethylbenzene>99.8%
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane(DBCP)>99.9%
1,2-Dibromoethane>99.9%
1,2-Dichloroethane>99.8%
1,2-Dichloropropane>99.8%
1,3,5-Trimethylbenzene>99.8%
1,3-Butadiene>99.9%
1,3-Dichloropropane>99.8%
1,4-Dioxane>99.8%
17-beta-Estradiol>99.9%
1-Chloropropane>99.9%
2,2-Dichloropropane>99.8%
2,2-Dimethylphenol>99.9%
2,3,7,8-TCDD (Dioxin)>98.0%
2,4,5-T>99.9%
2,4,5-TP (Silvex)>99.9%
2,4,6-Trichlorophenol>99.9%
2,4-D>99.9%
2,4-DB>99.9%
2,4-Dichlorophenol>99.9%
2,4-Dinitrophenol>99.9%
2,4-Dinitrotoluene>99.9%
2,6-Dinitrotoluene>99.8%
2-Chloronaphthalene>99.9%
2-Chlorophenol>99.9%
2-Furancarboxaldehyde>98.7%
2-Hexanone>99.9%
2-Methylbutane>99.9%
2-Nitrophenol>99.8%
2-Nitropropane>99.9%
3,5-Dichlorobenzoic Acid>99.9%
3-Hydroxycarbofuran99.0%
4-Androstene-3,17-dione>97.8%
4-Bromophenyl phenyl ether>99.9%
4-Chloro-3-methylphenol>99.9%
4-Chlorophenyl phenyl ether>99.9%
4-Nitrotoluene>99.9%
4-para-Nonylphenol>99.9%
4-tert-Octylphenol>99.9%
Acenaphthene>98.0%
Acenaphthylene>99.8%
Acetaminophen>99.9%
Acetochlor>98.1%
Acetone>99.9%
Acetonitrile>99.9%
Acifluorfen>99.9%
Acrylonitrile>99.9%
Alachlor (Lasso)>99.8%
Aldicarb Sulfone>97.9%
Aldicarb Sulfoxide>98.7%
Aldrin>99.8%
Alpha – BHC>99.8%
Alpha-Chlordane>98.7%
Alpha-Lindane>94.3%
Aluminum88.40%
Ammonia>99.9%
Anthracene>99.8%
Antimony>98.0%
Arsenic98.30%
Atenolol>99.9%
Atraton>99.8%
Atrazine>99.8%
Barium99.9%
Bentazon99.9%
Benzaldehyde>99.9%
Benzene>99.8%
Benzo[a]anthracene>99.8%
Benzo[a]pyrene>99.8%
Benzo[b]fluoranthene>99.8%
Benzo[g,h,i]perylene>99.8%
Benzo[k]fluoranthene>99.8%
Beryllium>98.0%
Beta – BHC>99.8%
BHT>99.8%
Bis (2-chloroethoxy) Methane>99.9%
Bis (2-ethylhexyl) Adipate>99.8%
Bis (2-ethylhexyl) Phthalate>99.8%
Bis(2-Chloroethyl) ether>98.0%
Bisphenol A>99.9%
Bromacil>99.8%
Bromobenzene>99.8%
Bromochloroacetic Acid>99.9%
Bromochloromethane>99.8%
Bromodichloroacetic acid>91.5%
Bromodichloromethane>99.9%
Bromoform>99.6%
Bromomethane>99.9%
Butachlor>99.8%
Butyl benzyl phthalate>99.8%
Butylate>99.8%
Cadmium97.0%
Caffeine>99.9%
Calcium Hypochlorite>99.5%
Carbamazepine>99.9%
Carbaryl>98.1%
Carbofuran>99.9%
Carbon Disulfide>99.9%
Carbon Tetrachloride>99.8%
Chloramben>99.9%
Chloramine>99.7%
Chlordane>98.7%
Chloride>99.9%
Chlorine>99.5%WQA
Chlorneb>99.8%
Chloroacetonitrile>98.3%
Chlorodibromomethane>99.8%
Chloroethane>99.8%
Chloroform>99.8%
Chloromethane>99.9%
Chloropyrophos>99.8%
Chlorothalonil>99.8%
Chlorotrifluoromethane>99.9%
Chlorpropham>99.8%
Chlorpropham>99.8%
Chlorprophane>99.8%
Chlorpyrifos>99.8%
Chromium (hexavalent)97.8%
Chrysene>99.8%
Ciprofloxacin>99.9%
Cis – Chlordane>99.8%
Cis-1,2-Dichloroethene>99.8%
Cis-1,2-Dichloroethylene>99.9%
Cis-1,3-Dichloropropene>99.8%
Cobalt>97.1%
Copper99.9%
Cyanazine>99.8%
Cyanazine (Bladex)>99.8%
Cycloate>99.8%
Cyclohexane>97.9%
Dacthal>97.9%
Dalapon>99.9%
DCPA>99.9%
DEET>99.9%
Delta – BHC>99.8%
Desenthylatrazine>98.3%
Desisopropylatrazine>98.7%
Di(2-ethylhexyl) adipate>98.7%
Diazinon (Spectracide)>97.9%
Dibenz[a,h]anthracene>99.8%
Dibromoacetic Acid>99.9%
Dibromomethane>99.9%
Dicamba>99.9%
Dichloroacetic Acid>99.9%
Dichlorodifluoromethane>99.9%
Dichloromethane(methylenechloride)>99.8%
Dichlorvos>99.8%
Diclofenac Sodium>99.9%
Diclorprop99.9%
Dieldrin>99.8%
Diethyl Phthalate>99.8%
Diisobutyl phthalate>98.0%
Dimethoate>97.9%
Dimethyl Phthalate>99.8%
Di-n-Butyl phthalate>99.8%
Dinitro-o-cresol>99.9%
Di-n-octyl phthalate>99.8%
Dinoseb>99.9%
Diphenamid>99.8%
Diphenylamine>99.9%
Diquat>98.7%
Disulfoton>99.8%
Endosulfan I>99.8%
Endosulfan II>99.8%
Endosulfan Sulfate>99.8%
Endothall>98.7%
Endrin>99.8%
Endrin Aldehyde>99.8%
Endrin Ketone>99.8%
EPFB>95.0%
EPTC>99.8%
Erythromycin>99.5%
Estradiol>99.9%
Estriol>97.9%
Estrone>99.9%
Ethinyl estradiol>99.9%
Ethoprop>99.8%
Ethylbenzene>99.8%
Ethylene Dibromide>99.9%
Etridiazole>99.8%
Fenamiphos>99.8%
Fenarimol>99.7%
Fluoranthene>99.8%
Fluorene>99.8%
Fluoride>99.5%
Fluorotrichloromethane>99.7%
Fluosilicate>99.5%
Fluosilicic Acid>99.5%
Fluoxetine>99.9%
Fluridone>99.8%
Formaldehyde>99.0%
Gemfibrozil>99.9%
GenX>99.4%
Germanium>97.9%
Glyphosate>99.9%
Gross Alpha (Thorium 230)>98.0%
Gross Beta (Cesium 137)>98.0%
Heptachlor>99.8%
Heptachlor Epoxide>99.8%
Hexachlorobenzene (HCB)>99.7%
Hexachlorobutadiene>99.8%
Hexachlorocyclopentadiene>99.8%
Hexachloroethane>99.9%
Hexachloropentadiene>99.9%
Hexadecanoic Acid>97.8%
Hexane(s)>99.9%
Hexazinone>99.8%
Ibuprofen>99.9%
Indeno[1,2,3-cd]pyrene>99.8%
Iodine>99.5%
Iodomethane>99.0%
Iron99.9%
Isophorone>99.8%
Isopropyl Alcohol>99.9%
Isopropylbenzene>99.8%
Lead>99.3%
Lindane>99.8%
Linuron>99.9%
Lithium>99.3%
Manganese>99.9%
m-Dichlorobenzene>99.8%
Meprobamate>99.9%
Mercury (Inorganic)>98.4%
Methomyl>98.0%
Methoxychlor>99.8%
Methyl ethyl ketone>99.8%
Methyl isobutyl ketone>99.8%
Methylcyclohexane>99.9%
Methylcyclopentane>99.9%
Metolachlor>99.8%
Metolachlor Oxanilic Acid>98.7%
Metribuzin>99.8%
MGK 264 – Isomer a>99.8%
Microplastics>99.9%
Molinate>99.8%
Molybdenum>98.1%
Monobromoacetic Acid99.8%
Monochloroacetic Acid>99.9%
Monochlorobenzene (chlorobenzene)>99.9%
MTBE>97.9%
M-Xylene>99.8%
Nano-Chlordane>99.8%
Naphthalene>99.8%
Napropamide>99.8%
Naproxen>99.9%
N-Butylbenzene>99.8%
NFBS>95.0%
Nickel>99.1%
Nitrate>99.9%
Nitrate and nitrite>99.7%
Nitrite>99.7%
Nitrobenzene>99.9%
Nitrofen>99.8%
N-Nitrosodimethylamine>96.7%
N-Nitroso-di-N-butylamine>98.4%
N-Nitrosodi-n-propylamine>99.9%
Nonylphenol>99.9%
Norflurazon>99.8%
N-Propylbenzene>97.9%
o-Chlorotoluene>99.6%
Octadecanoic Acid>96.0%
o-Dichlorobenzene>99.8%
Oxamyl (Vydate)>98.7%
Oxyfluorfen>99.8%
o-Xylene>99.8%
p,p’ – DDD>99.8%
p,p’ – DDE>99.8%
p.p’ – DDT>99.8%
Paraquat>98.7%
p-Chlorotoluene>99.8%
P-Cresol>98.0%
p-Dichlorobenzene>99.8%
Pebulate>99.8%
Pentachlorophenol>99.9%
Pentane>97.9%
Perchlorate>96.0%
Perfluorobutane sulfonate (PFBS)>95.0%
Perfluorobutanoic acid (PFBA)>95.0%
Perfluorononanoic acid (PFNA)>95.0%
Perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS)>99.5%WQA
Perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA)>99.0%WQA
PFHA>95.0%
Phenanthrene>99.8%
Phenols>99.8%
Phenytoin>99.9%
Phthalates>99.8%
Picloram>99.9%
p-Isopropyltoluene>99.9%
Polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs)>99.1%
Primidone>99.9%
Progesterone>99.9%
Prometon>99.8%
Prometryn>99.8%
Propachlor>99.8%
Propazine>99.8%
Propyzamide>99.8%
Psudomona Aeruginsoa99.99%
p-Xylene>99.8%
Pyrene>99.8%
Quinclorac>99.9%
Sec-Butylbenzene>99.8%
Selenium>99.1%
Silver98.8%
Simazine>99.8%
Simetryn>99.8%
Strontium>98.8%
Styrene>99.8%
Sulfamethoxazole>99.9%
Sulfate99.8%
Sulfide>99.0%
TCCP>99.9%
TCEP>99.9%
TCPP>99.9%
Tebuconazole>99.8%
Tebuthiuron>99.8%
Terbacil>99.8%
Terbutryn>99.8%
Tert-Butyl Alcohol>99.9%
Tert-Butylbenzene>99.8%
Testosterone>99.9%
Tetrachloroethene>99.7%
Tetrachloroterephthalic Acid>98.7%
Tetradecanoic Acid>97.9%
Tetrahydrofuran>99.9%
Thallium>98.0%
Thiobencarb>97.9%
Toluene>99.8%
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)>99.8%
Toxaphene>99.8%
Trans – Chlordane (Nonachlor)>99.6%
Trans-1,2-Dichloroethene>99.7%
Trans-1,2-Dichloroethylene>99.9%
Trans-1,3-Dichloropropene>99.8%
Triadimefon>99.8%
Trichloroethene>99.8%
Trichlorofluoromethane>99.8%
Trichlorotrifluoroethane>99.9%
Triclosan>99.9%
Trifluralin>99.8%
Trimethoprim>99.9%
Uranium>96.7%
Vanadium>96.8%
Vernolate>99.8%
Vinclozolin>99.8%
Vinyl Chloride>99.9%
Xylenes (total)>99.8%
Zinc99.9%

🚦Filtration Rate

Score: 10.00

Since the Clearly Filtered pitcher is a gravity filter, our water filtered slowly and steadily. In our eyes, this was a good thing – it meant the water was getting plenty of contact time with the media, allowing for more contaminants to be reduced.

We timed the speed of filtration and used the data to measure the pitcher’s filtration rate in gallons per hour (GPH). 

The Clearly Filtered pitcher filtered 0.5 gallons of water in 13 minutes and 12 seconds, giving it a filtration rate of 2.27 GPH

That’s pretty great for a gravity filter. In comparison, the PUR Plus pitcher had a filtration rate of 2.82 GPH; the Waterdrop Chubby measured in at 3.52 GPH, and the Brita Elite was also a bit faster at 2.92 GPH. 

It’s worth noting that none of these filters are as advanced or comprehensively designed as the Clearly Filtered pitcher filter, so we’d expect them to have faster filtration rates. 

We could pour water from the pitcher without unsettling the unfiltered water in the top reservoir. That meant we didn’t have to wait for the entire jug of water to be filtered first. 

We got into the habit of filling the pitcher first thing in the morning, then going about our morning chores. By the time we were ready to sit down with a drink, enough water had been filtered to fill several glasses. 

We topped up the pitcher every time we poured from it, so there was always water filtering throughout the day. This worked well for our two-person household, but if you have a big family, the 10-cup capacity might be too small.

📐 Design

Score: 9.70

In the design category, we evaluated the overall design quality of the Clearly Filtered pitcher. Wal also looked for certifications the manufacturer had obtained for materials safety. 

When we got the Clearly Filtered pitcher for testing, it was available in one size: 10 cups, or 80 ounces. It’s sold in just one color combination: clear and white. 

Component Quality

Score: 9.50

Out of the box, the Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher is a lightweight pitcher made from Tritan, a sturdy type of plastic that’s free from BPA, BPS, and other bisphenols.

The Clearly Filtered pitcher was one of the two filter pitchers we tested (the other being Larq) that felt better-made, more solid, and more durable when we handled them. The other pitchers we tested all felt like they were made out of the same type of plastic, which was thinner and more brittle-feeling. 

Brian assembling the Clearly Filtered Pitcher

However, on the whole, there’s nothing about the Clearly Filtered pitcher’s design that blew us away. First and foremost, it’s intended for simple, practical use – it’s not trying to be the most technical or advanced system on the market in terms of its appearance or features. It doesn’t even have a filter countdown timer (something we do wish it had).

Although the pitcher is made from materials that feel sturdier, it’s still a majority-plastic design. So if you want to avoid contact with plastics as much as possible, the Clearly Filtered pitcher probably isn’t your answer. 

Certification

Score: 10.00

The Clearly Filtered pitcher is WQA certified for lead-free design (Standard 372), and it also holds a materials safety certification as a component of its NSF 42 and 53 performance certifications. 

It couldn’t have done any better here, so it got the top score for us. 

Filter Materials

The main filtration media used in the Clearly Filtered pitcher filter is coconut carbon block. Activated carbon filtration technology uses adsorption to trap contaminants in the filter’s pores, but most carbon-based filter pitchers can only remove a handful of contaminants, including chlorine and some chemicals.

What makes Clearly Filtered unique is that its filter media is formulated with twists and turns, so it can trap more impurities than if water took the straight route through. This huge performance bonus makes Clearly Filtered‘s offering so much more effective than many of the other water filter pitchers on the market.

Holding a Clearly Filtered water filter pitcher replacement cartridge

A woven stainless steel mesh screen and composite shell are also involved in the filtering stages. The woven mesh screen prevents large particles from clogging up the activated carbon media, and the composite shell allows water to have an extended contact period with the media. 

Several other proprietary filtration materials are also used, which Clearly Filtered has chosen not to disclose. Judging by the contaminants the filter reduces, we think these materials are likely some type of ion exchange resin and/or KDF media.

⚙️ Setup

Score: 9.50

While we don’t mind a more complex filter install when necessary, we know that many people want something they can assemble in a matter of minutes. If that’s you, you should find that the Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher ticks your boxes.

We followed this pitcher setup process:

  1. Unbox the pitcher and filter from the box and take them out of their packaging
  2. Wash the pitcher and reservoir in warm water with soap, then dry thoroughly
  3. Fill the priming bag with cold water and twist the filter onto the bag
  4. Squeeze the bag with both hands to force water through the filter
  5. Repeat the priming process once more

The priming bag came with our pitcher and could be reused for all our replacement filters. The process is quicker than soaking a filter, but takes a bit longer than some of the other filters that just require a 30-second flush. But although the priming process took us a couple of extra minutes of work, it was easy enough. 

Setup was less than 10 minutes total, and we recommend the Clearly Filtered to anyone who doesn’t want the hassle of installing a water filtration system at their water line.

🔧 Maintenance

Score: 8.75

We also evaluated the Clearly Filtered pitcher’s maintenance costs, and how easy we found its servicing requirements. 

Servicing Requirements

9.50

The Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher has one of the best average filter lifespans of all the water filter pitchers we’ve reviewed. The filter cartridges in the pitcher last up to 100 gallons, or 4 months. 

We found maintenance as easy as setup. We used the priming bag to prime our replacement filters, which only took a few minutes. There was only one filter to change, so we didn’t have the difficulty of keeping track of multiple different filter lifespans. 

The only downside for us was that our pitcher didn’t have a filter countdown timer. While these should only be used for reference anyway, we’d have liked to know the filter status by checking the pitcher. Instead, we made our own phone reminders to make sure we always had replacement filters when we needed them. 

Continue Reading:

Costs

Score: 10.00

The Clearly Filtered pitcher has a higher ongoing cost than most of the other water filter pitchers we tested. Its filters have a cost per gallon of $0.55 – in comparison, the Waterdrop Chubby pitcher has an ongoing cost of $0.27 per gallon, and the Brita Elite pitcher costs just $0.17 per gallon. Only ZeroWater was more expensive at $0.70/ gallon. 

PitcherCost per Gallon
Brita Elite$0.17
Santevia MINA$0.25
Pur PLUS$0.27
Waterdrop Chubby$0.27
Epic Pure$0.31
Larq Purevis Advanced$0.54
Clearly Filtered$0.55
ZeroWater$0.70

Clearly Filtered filters have been tested to reduce hundreds more contaminants than most other pitchers we reviewed, which explains why it’s more expensive to own in the long run. 

We found that we could save quite a bit of money per filter by buying packs of cartridges – we recommend doing this if you plan to use this pitcher every day for the foreseeable future.

If your water contains high concentrations of contaminants or you’re filtering a lot of water every day, you may need to replace the filters more frequently (as often as once every 2 months).

🏢 Company

Score: 9.00

We finished by evaluating Clearly Filtered as a company, including its warranty, shipping, and returns offerings. 

Warranty 

Score: 9.10

As with all of Clearly Filtered‘s products, the Clearly Filtered pitcher is backed by a 24-month warranty. We appreciated the reassurance of knowing that if we experienced any problems within the first 2 years of use, Clearly Filtered would replace the pitcher of charge.

Note that the warranty only applies to products purchased directly from the manufacturer. 

View Clearly Filtered’s warranty information here. 

Shipping 

Score: 10.00

Clearly Filtered offers free shipping to customers everywhere in the United States. There’s no minimum spend required. Clearly Filtered says orders should be shipped within 5-19 days of processing. 

Clearly Filtered’s shipping policy can be viewed here. 

Returns

Score: 8.00

Clearly Filtered’s 30-day satisfaction guarantee entitles customers to a full refund if their products don’t fully meet customer expectations. Customers are responsible for paying for their return shipping, and Clearly Filtered only accepts returns from purchases made directly on the manufacturer’s website.

🤔 Is the Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher Right for You?

In our opinion, the Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher is a good fit for anyone who wants a no-install water filtration solution that can remove as many contaminants as possible from their drinking water, and folks who don’t like to take manufacturers’ performance claims at face value and prefer the reassurance of an official WQA certification.

Brian holding the Clearly Filtered Pitcher

With that said, this water pitcher isn’t for everyone. It’s about twice the price of most other pitchers, and really, all you’re paying for is the filter’s ability to remove tens of different VOCs and chemicals that may not even be in your water.

It’s worth checking the Clearly Filtered’s contaminant removal data sheet and deciding whether you want the reassurance of a pitcher that can remove hundreds of contaminants, or whether you’re happy to spend less on a pitcher that has been tested to remove a smaller group of common impurities.

Check your most recent Water Quality Report, make a list of all the contaminants your water contains, and decide on a suitable water filtration solution from there.

❔ FAQs

Does Clearly Filtered Remove PFAS?

Yes, the Clearly Filtered Water Pitchers is WQA certified to NSF/ANSI standard 53 for the reduction of PFOA/PFOS

Found this review helpful?

Comment below or share this article!

  • Brian Campbell
    President & CEO, CWS, CWR

    Brian Campbell, a WQA Certified Water Specialist (CWS) and Certified Water Treatment Representative (CWR) with 5+ years of experience, helps homeowners navigate the world of water treatment. After honing his skills at Hach Company, he founded his business to empower homeowners with the knowledge and tools to achieve safe, healthy water. Brian's tested countless devices, from simple pitchers to complex systems, helping his readers find the perfect fit for their unique needs.

Scroll to Top